Wednesday, 17 December 2014

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds: Acoustic Sessions

A collection of acoustic radio sessions from Noel Gallagher plus an excellent interview from the BBC Radio 4 program "The Mastertapes".

Interview Notes:

John Wilson continues with the latest series of Mastertapes, in which he talks to leading performers and songwriters about the album that made them or changed them. Recorded in front of a live audience at the BBC's iconic Maida Vale Studios. Each edition includes two episodes, with John initially quizzing the artist about the album in question, and then, in the B-side, the audience puts the questions. Both editions feature exclusive live performances.

The A-side. 'Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds' with Noel Gallagher
In 2009 Noel Gallagher left Oasis - one of the seminal bands of the Britpop era with seven multi-platinum albums including: 'Definitely Maybe', '(What's The Story) Morning Glory?' and 'Be Here Now' - which became the fastest selling album in UK chart history. Two years later Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds also went to Number 1 in the UK with tracks like "Everybody's On the Run", "AKA... What A Life!" and "The Death of You and Me". Praised for its psychedelic tinges and eternal themes of love, loss and hope, it's been described as the best collection of songs "since his Morning Glory days".
With tracks inspired by New Orleans ragtime rhythms and Ennio Morricone-like strings, it put paid to rumours that its creator entered into a state of inertia after the end of Oasis. Noel Gallagher said of the album: "I won't criticize anything about Oasis because I loved being in that band and I was in charge of it, but there was always the feeling: how will this go down in Wembley, with 70,000 people braying for good times? This time I didn't have to think about that. I've got a guy playing wine glasses on one song, a saw on another. This is not Oasis."

The B-side: Having discussed the making of 'Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds', his first studio album since leaving Oasis (in the A-side of the programme, broadcast on Monday 8th December), Noel Gallagher responds to questions from the audience, performs acoustic live versions of some of the tracks from the album and looks forward to his next musical project "Chasing Yesterday" due out in 2015.

Producer: Paul Kobrak.

Acoustic Sessions
01 - Everybody's On The Run (Acoustic BBC Radio 4 Session 08.12.14)
02 - AKA... What A Life (Acoustic, BBC Radio 4 Session 08.12.14)
03 - If I Had A Gun (Acoustic, BBC Radio 4 Session 08.12.14)
04 - AKA... Broken Arrow (Acoustic, BBC Radio 4 Session 08.12.14)
05 - AKA... What A Life (Acoustic, 1live Session 14.09.11)
06 - If I Had A Gun (Acoustic, 1live Session 14.09.11)
07 - AKA... What A Life (Acoustic, BBC Radio 2 10.09.11)
08 - The Death Of You And Me (Acoustic, Radio Monte Carlo 25.09.11)
09 - If I Had A Gun (Acoustic, RTL Studios, Milan 25.09.11)
10 - AKA... What A Life! (Acoustic, RTL Studios, Milan 25.09.11)
11 - Supersonic (Acoustic, RTL Studios, Milan 25.09.11)
12 - The Dying Of The Light (Acoustic, RTÉ 2fm 28.02.15)

BBC Radio 4 "The Mastertapes" Interview
01 - Part One (A-side)
02 - Part Two (B-side)

Password: NoelAcoustic

Sunday, 14 December 2014

Jeff Buckley: Freakout Or Fall In Love

Two Jeff Buckley radio broadcasts in one here. Both have been posted on my Youtube channel but I always encode my videos with 192kbps mp3 audio. So even if you have grabbed the audio from Youtube you may want to download the higher quality mp3s from here anyway.

The Mountain Stage (Charleston, West Virginia, America) 02.04.94
01. Lover, You Should've Come Over
02. Mojo Pin
03. "Freakout Or Fall In Love"
04. Grace
05. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (with John Hammond and Entourage)

The Rooftop Cafe, RRR Radio (Melbourne, VIC, Australia) 31.08.95 - Preview Below
01. Intro
02. Last Goodbye
03. Grace
04. All That I Ask
05. Lover, You Should've Come Over