Thursday, 30 July 2015

The Smiths: Do You Mind? (Live At El Dorado Theatre '84)

The Smiths perform live at the El Dorado Theatre in Paris, May 9th 1984.

Sourced from the bootleg "El Dorado". The original audio sounded a little tinny and had quite a bit of hiss during the quieter moments, so I've adjusted some levels to improve the sound and and removed any unwanted hiss to make it more pleasant on the ears. Although the sound quality here isn't as good as some other Smiths bootlegs (Thank Your Lucky Stars, Same Day Again) I thought it was well worth a clean-up.

Sadly this isn't the complete performance as the last track (an encore of Hand In Glove) is missing.

01. Hand In Glove
02. Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
03. Girl Afraid
04. This Charming Man
05. Barbarism Begins At Home - Preview Below
06. Pretty Girls Make Graves
07. This Night Has Opened My Eyes
08. Still Ill
09. You've Got Everything Now
10. Handsome Devil
11. Miserable Lie
Encore #1
12. These Things Take Time
13. What Difference Does It Make?
Encore #2
14. Barbarism Begins At Home

Tuesday, 21 July 2015

Oasis: MTV Unplugged *Remastered*

Legend has it that the band were waiting back stage ready to go out and record the live set infront of 400 people when Liam turned around to Noel and said he didn't fancy it and left. Noel, who had no idea what was going on, then had to go out and perform the set as Liam heckled from the balcony but Noel gave it everything he had and it was a great show. Apparently MTV were "very disappointed" that Liam sat out the performance and were in two minds about broadcasting the recording but they did, all be it an abridged 45 minute version, as was the length of the show at the time. The songs that didn't make the cut were "Listen Up", "Whatever" and there was also a re-take of "Hello".

I've had this one knocking around for ages and thought it was due for a make over. I've edited the missing tracks back into the performace and I've improved the sound using the officially released version of "Round Are Way" as reference and then edited out any imperfections. For me this is one of the must own performances from Oasis, along with Knebworth '96 and Glastonbury '95.

A different version of this performance can be found HERE:

01 - Hello
02 - Some Might Say
03 - Live Forever
04 - Listen Up
05 - The Masterplan
06 - Don't Look Back In Anger
07 - Talk Tonight
08 - Morning Glory
09 - Round Are Way / Up In The Sky
10 - Cast No Shadow
11 - Whatever
12 - Wonderwall

Monday, 13 July 2015

Jeff Buckley: Live at The Knitting Factory '91

 Jeff Buckley & Gary Lucas live at The Knitting Factory on the 1st November 1991, plus demo tracks from the Krypton Studio demo session (also known as the Gods & Monster Demos) recorded on 17th August 1991.

Great sound quality here, as you can hear in the video below. I remixed the demo of Bluebird Blues but I've included the original mix. The version of Grace that was recorded at the Krypton Studio session is available on "Songs To No One 1991 - 1992" early recordings compliation released in 2002.

01 - Instrumental
02 - Bluebird Blues
03 - Mojo Pin - Preview Below
04 - Grace
05 - Instrumental
06 - Mojo Pin (Demo)
07 - Bluebird Blues (Demo)
08 - Bluebird Blues (Demo, Original Mix)

Wednesday, 8 July 2015

Oasis: Live At Knebworth Park 1996


 Oasis perform live at Knebworth Park 10th/11th August 1996.


  "The gigs which defined Britpop, and crowned Oasis as kings of the movement, this was the moment Liam, Noel, Bonehead, Guigsy and Whitey confirmed their all-too-fleeting status as the most popular British band since The Beatles. Over two nights in August 1996, the 250,000-plus people who were the lucky two million or so to get tickets payed homage to a band which was at its zenith. Knebworth was a culmination of the phenomenal world-wide rise Oasis had enjoyed following the release of their second album ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?‘ and the huge global hit Wonderwall’. For a short time, they were the biggest band in the world, and these two nights captured just what that meant to both the bandmates and their army of fans, still in touch with their adidas-clad heroes and still truly representing all that is great about rock and roll. The significance of the gig was lost on no-one, and was summed up perfectly by Noel Gallagher as he strode on to the stage on the second night and declared: ‘This is history!’."

There are rumours that this will be officially released next year, just in time for the 20th anniversary of the performance but until then we have this: Sourced from the bootleg "Welcome To Planet Earth", an excellent soundboard recording (which hasn't gone through the brickwalling that mars modern mastering), I've edited out all the imperfections and gaps to recreate the whole performance. The download also contains audience recordings of the missing tracks "My Big Mouth" and "It's Gettin' Better (Man!!)", which I have also cleaned up for better sound.


01 - The Swamp Song
02 - Columbia 
03 - Acquiesce
04 - Supersonic
05 - Hello
06 - Some Might Say
07 - Roll With It
08 - Slide Away
09 - Morning Glory 
10 - Round Are Way
11 - Cigarettes And Alcohol
12 - Whatever / Octopus' Garden
13 - Cast No Shadow
14 - Wonderwall
15 - The Masterplan
16 - Don't Look Back In Anger
17 - Live Forever
18 - Champagne Supernova
19 - I Am The Walrus

Bonus Tracks:
20 - My Big Mouth
21 - It's Gettin' Better (Man!!)

Tracks 1 - 16 - Live At Knebworth Park, Stevenage, England, UK 11.08.1996 .
Tracks 17 - 21 - Live At Knebworth Park, Stevenage, England, UK 10.08.1996 .