Saturday, 27 February 2016

Oasis: The SOTSOG Sessions (Demos, B-sides & Rarities)

The Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants Sessions is a collection of demo recordings, b-sides, promo tracks and other rarities from Oasis.

These songs were recorded in Noel’s home studio at Supernova Heights and at Wheeler End Studios with the assistance of Mark Coyle and Paul Stacey between 1998 and early 1999.  All tracks are sung by Noel with the exception of Little James which is sung by Liam.

“The thing about Standing on the Shoulder of Giants is that I had a full year to sit in my 16-track bedroom studio with an engineer friend and make demos, whereas the demo sessions for Be Here Now were finished in two weeks and they were really rough. We didn’t bother about what sounds we were going to use, or the arrangements, or anything. I thought, “We’ll work all that out when we get to the studio.”  This time, however, I had basically done the album twice before it even got to the band. I had written and recorded the songs on a little Walkman, and then I demoed the tracks on ADATs in my bedroom. And we ended up using a lot of stuff from the demos on the actual record because the demos were that good.”Noel Gallagher,, 2000

Noel recording demos at Wheeler End Studios
15 tracks were leaked onto the Internet via a private FTP on the 31st January 2000. These songs are known to have been recorded during these demo sessions before the band converged to the south of France with Mark Stent to record the album proper.

Tracklist (Demos):
01 - Fuckin' In The Bushes
02 - Go Let It Out
03 - Who Feels Love?
04 - Put Yer Money Where Yer Mouth Is
05 - Little James
06 - Gas Panic!
07 - Where Did It All Go Wrong?
08 - Sunday Morning Call
09 - I Can See A Liar
10 - Roll It Over
11 - Cigarettes In Hell
12 - Carry Us All
13 - Lets All Make Believe
14 - Just Getting Older
15 - Let There Be Love
16 - Revolution Song

Tracklist (B-sides & Rarities):
17 - Teotihuac√°n
18 - Fuckin' In The Bushes (Clean Version)
19 - Go Let It Out (Demo)
20 - Who Feels Love (Acoustic Version)
21 - Gas Panic! (Demo)
22 - Where Did It All Go Wrong? (Semi-Acoustic Version)
23 - Sunday Morning Call (Acoustic Version)
24 - Let's All Make Believe
25 - (As Long As They've Got) Cigarettes In Hell
26 - One Way Road
27 - Helter Skelter
28 - Carry Us All
29 - Full On
30 - Carnation
31 - To Be Someone
32 - Fuckin' In The Bushes (12" Vinyl Promo Version)

Password For Both Parts: GiantsDemo

Sunday, 21 February 2016

The Temper Trap: Science Of Fear (Radio Sessions)

Science Of Fear is a collection of radio sessions from The Temper Trap dated between 2009 and 2012.

Excellent sound quality throughout. Only "In For The Kill" sounds like it's come from the FM source and I've done my best to clean it up. All the rest seem to be from a pre-FM mp3 no lower than 128kbps.

01 - Love Lost (Transmissions Session, June 2010)
02 - Sweet Disposition (Transmissions Session, June 2010)
03 - Fader (Transmissions Session, June 2010)
04 - Science Of Fear (Transmissions Session, June 2010)
05 - Sweet Disposition (Live on Triple J 27.11.09)
06 - Dancing In The Dark (Live on Triple J 27.11.09)
07 - In For The Kill (Radio 1 Live Lounge 15.12.09)
08 - Fader (Live on KROQ)
09 - Love Lost (Live on KEXP 22.10.09)
10 - Fools (Live on KEXP 22.10.09)
11 - Sweet Disposition (Live on KEXP 22.10.09)
12 - Need Your Love (Laura Leishman Project Le Mouv Session 26.04.12)
13 - Trembling Hands (Live on Triple J 23.11.11)
14 - Don't Fight It (Live on Triple J 23.11.11)
15 - Need Your Love (No Ceremony  Remix)

Password: TrapRadio


Sunday, 14 February 2016

The Verve: The Glastonbury Festival 2008

A wonderful performance from The Verve at the Glastonbury Festival from the 29th June 2008.

01 - This Is Music
02 - Sonnet
03 - Space And Time
04 - History
05 - Life's An Ocean
06 - Velvet Morning
07 - The Rolling People
08 - The Drugs Don't Work
09 - Lucky Man
10 - Bitter Sweet Symphony
11 - Love Is Noise

Password: Verve2008

Sunday, 7 February 2016

Jeff Buckley: The Velvet Jungle

The Velvet Jungle session was recorded in the Europe 1 Radio Studio on the 15th February 1995 and broadcasted a few days later on a Arte TV (a German/French channel) with the title 'Top Live'. Some of this set was also rebroadcast some years later on a French Cable TV channel ('Paris Première') as part of the the 'Velvet Jungle' show.

Originally sourced from the "Black Session" bootleg and then declipped and cleaned up to improve the sound. Although the result is a slightly warmer and richer, the overall sound is still a little flat for me and it does sound a little muddy at certain points due to the TV broadcast source. That being said this is still a very good recording that's well worth a listen.

01 - Dream Brother
02 - So Real
03 - Last Goodbye
04 - Mojo Pin
05 - Grace
06 - Eternal Life
07 - Interview

Password: JeffVelvet