Wednesday, 30 July 2014

Oasis: Live Demonstration Tape (Extended & Remastered)

 In 1992, Oasis were an up-and-coming live act in Manchester, with a small following, but no signs of a record contract. Realising their potential, Oasis guitarist and songwriter Noel Gallagher contacted Tony Griffiths of the Liverpool band The Real People. The two had met on a North American tour with the Inspiral Carpets, on which The Real People had been the opening act and Gallagher had worked as a roadie. Gallagher asked him if Oasis could use their studio to produce a professional sounding demo which they could then send to record companies. Griffiths and his brother Chris claim to have taught the band a lot about recording songs during that period. Around a dozen songs were recorded at the studio at Dock Road, Liverpool in Spring 1993, of which six songs ended up on the final Live Demonstration Tape. The versions of "D'Yer Wanna Be A Spaceman?" and "Married With Children" were recorded at the home of co-producer Mark Coyle

This is a project that's been on and off for a few months. I've had a download of the original Live Demonstration Tape for quite sometime and decided it would be great to clean-up the audio and hopefully improve the sound. I actually finished that in March but then I managed to get hold of a FLAC rip of the Precreation Blues bootleg. Just as I was pondering whether to scrap my oringinal work and start again with this new source I got wind that Oasis were going to release (in limited numbers) a remastered verison of the cassette tape as a promotion for the reissue of Definitely Maybe. 

I was able to download the Remastered Tape from here: Special thanks goes to them for making this and so much more available and of cource a massive thank you to the original uploader Freddie.

What is available here is a cleaned up version of the tape plus extras in 320kbps mp3 format.
Tracks 1 to 8 are all taken from the 2014 remastered, re-issue of the Live Demonstration Tape. Tracks 9 & 11 are sourced from a direct CD rip. Tracks 10, 12 - 18 are all taken from mp3 download.

01 - Cloudburst (Remastered)
02 - Columbia (Remastered)
03 - D'yer Wanna Be A Spaceman (Remastered)
04 - Strange Thing (Remastered)
05 - Bring It On Down (Remastered)
06 - Married With Children (Remastered)
07 - Fade Away (Remastered) 
08 - Rock 'n' Roll Star (Remastered)
09 - Alive (Demo)
10 - Cloudburst (Alternative Demo)
11 - Columbia (Alternative Demo)
12 - Bring It On Down (Alternative Demo) - Preview Below
13 - Rock 'n' Roll Star (Alternative Demo)
14 - Alive (Alternative Demo)
15 - Must Be The Music (Rehearsal)
16 - Comin' On Strong (Rehearsal)
17 - Lock All The Doors (Rehearsal)
18 - Strange Thing (Rehearsal)

Password: LiveDemo


Friday, 18 July 2014

Jeff Buckley: The Bright Lights In Sorrow (Live '95)

The Bright Lights In Sorrow is a selection of live tracks from Jeff Buckley.

The first four tracks are all ripped from the bootleg "Son Of The Starsailor". For some strange reason the openning track originally starts off with a sample taken from later on in the song. I was able to remove the added sample and restore the intro. I edited out "So Real" as it is available on the So Real EP which is included in The Grace EPs boxset.

Live at Nighttown in Rotterdam, Holland, 25.02.95
01 - Lover, You Should've Come Over
02 - Last Goodbye
03 - Grace
04 - Eternal Life

Live on 99X Atlanta Live X, APC Studios, Georgia, August '94 - Preview Below
05 - Last Goodbye
06 - So Real
07 - Mojo Pin
08 - Grace
09 - Lover, You Should've Come Over

Bonus Tracks:
10 - Mojo Pin (Columbia Records Radio Hour 12.01.95)
11 - Grace (Columbia Records Radio Hour 12.01.95)
12 - Last Goodbye (Mtv, 120 Minutes, New York 15.01.95)
13 - Vancouver (Mtv's Most Wanted, London 3.3.95)

Monday, 7 July 2014

The Grace Of Jeff Buckley

 The Grace Of Jeff Buckley is a 30 minute audio documentary originally broardcast 5th July 2014 on BBC Radio 4.

Since his desperately early death in May 1997, there's been an inevitable mythologising about the life and music of Jeff Buckley. Perhaps it's not surprising that in the posthumous rush to acknowledge his genius, memories have been clouded or, retrospectively,
given a silver lining.

The quiet, uncertain foundations of his reputation were laid on a solo tour of Europe three years earlier,
in March 1994 - and, in particular, during one day. On the 18th March, Buckley was scheduled for a photo shoot (with Kevin Westenberg), an appearance on BBC GLR and his first proper London concert, at a folk club called Bunjies. In 'The Grace of Jeff Buckley', those who were there speak for the first time about the man and his music: Buckley's American manager Dave Lory, his UK tour manager Steve Abbott, booking agent Emma Banks and photographer Kevin Westenberg share intimate memories that have so far not featured in the Buckley biography.

And the programme also includes rare archive: the GLR radio session that has not been heard since that live broadcast in 1994 - including an astonishing version of 'Grace' - and, exclusively, a private interview that Buckley recorded on the eve of this tour but decided not to release.

Together, these glimpses offer a portrait of a young man whose voice and musicianship, as well as his irresistible charisma and the trauma of his early death, touched millions.

Produced by Alan Hall.
A Falling Tree production for BBC Radio 4

The download includes the documentary plus the two complete GLR session tracks and an interview thought to be a promo to accompany Sin-é, but was never released. The last two tracks are from the Mark Radcliffe session. I remastered these two tracks originally for the "Asking To Stay" bootleg but didn't use them so I thought I would make them available here.

01 - The Grace Of Jeff Buckley (Documentary)
02 - Grace (GLR Radio Session 17.03.94)
03 - Lover, You Should've Come Over (GLR Radio Session 17.03.94)
04 - Interview (Unreleased Promo)
05 - Grace (Mark Radcliffe Session 22.08.94)
06 - So Real (Mark Radcliffe Session 22.08.94)