Sunday, 26 March 2017

Oasis: MTV The Super Dry Live (Live In Japan 23.05.02) *UPDATED*

Oasis perform live on MTV The Super Dry Live from Zepp Tokyo, 23rd May 2002.

UPDATE 07/04/18: Tracks 01 to 09 have been updated using a new improved higher quality source.

01 - The Hindu Times
02 - Hung In A Bad Place
03 - Better Man
04 - Force Of Nature
05 - Little By Little
06 - Whatever (Acoustic)
07 - D'you Know What I Mean?
08 - Some Might Say
09 - My Generation

Bonus Tracks:
10 - Whatever (FM J-Wave 'Tokio Hot 100' Session 29.09.02)
11 - Don't Look Back In Anger (FM J-Wave 'Tokio Hot 100' Session 29.09.02)
12 - Wonderwall (FM802 'Flower Afternoon' Session 03.10.02)

Password: TREON145

Sunday, 19 March 2017

The Beatles: Get Back (The Elektra Acetate) (Bootleg)

The Beatles - Get Back (Glyn John’s First Compilation) The ‘Elektra’ Acetate (Stereo) 1969. Heleter Skelter Records (2012).

 In late summer 1969 and throughout that autumn, tape copies of one of Glyn John's acetates of Get Back were aired by a number of American radio stations, including WBCN in Boston. WBCN obtained a reel-to-reel tape of an acetate and broadcast the tape on 22 September 1969. The broadcast was preserved on another high-quality reel by a listener. At the end of 1969, the recordings turned up on The Beatles' first bootleg release titled Kum Back and has been a staple in The Beatles' bootleg canon ever since.

In 2012, the Elektra Acetate was shared on torrent sites, blogs and on forums around the net, this is the earliest version of Glyn John's first Get Back compilation from early 1969.
The acetate features the same stereo mixes that were famously broadcast on US Radio in 1969, later leading to the bootlegs 'WBCN Get Back Reference Acetate' (Yellow Dog) and 'Posters, Incense and Strobe Candle' (Vigotone). Both of these discs had their problems, noise reduction for one, seriously damaging the high frequencies, and also some pretty bad low frequency hum.
This new source is far superior but the problem with this new Elektra Acetate however is that it is noisy, very noisy, suffering all of the problems you would expect from a 50 year old acetate. So for this Helter Skelter release, unlike other variations circulating, no noise reduction was used. It was painstakingly de-clicked, de-popped, and de-crackled each track one-by-one, putting the integrity of the music above anything else - leaving a very enjoyable listen, of what is a very important historical recording. Added also are the stereo elements that were missing from the acetate, taken from the Yellow Dog disc (only a section of dialogue), some tracks are available in longer form in mono with extra studio chat, but this is simply stereo only.

The disc has been pitch, phase and level corrected and the peak limiting applied to the original disc undone.

As for the name 'Elektra' acetate it could be a bad translation of Electrola. German pressings of records between 1972 to 2002 bore the name EMI Electrola. These pressings may have been imported to Japan and the original Japanese bootleggers familiar with that name instead of just EMI, translated it incorrectly.

01 - Get Back (False Start)
02 - Get Back
03 - I've Got A Feeling (False Start)
04 - Help (Partial Jam)
05 - Teddy Boy
06 - Two Of Us (False Start #1)
07 - Two Of Us (False Start #2)
08 - Two Of Us
09 - Dig A Pony (False Start)
10 - Dig A Pony
11 - I've Got A Feeling
12 - The Long And Winding Road
13 - Let It Be

14 - Don't Let Me Down
15 - For You Blue
16 - For You Blue
17 - Get Back
18 - The Walk

Password: GetBack

Sunday, 12 March 2017

Oasis: Live At Maine Road 1996 (First Night)

Oasis perform live at Maine Road, Manchester on the 27th April 1996 (first night performance).

A big shout out to the anonymous TREON fan who got in touch with me through the Facebook page and kindly donated this performance to the blog. It really is thanks to them and so many others who take the time to upload their bootlegs and share them for free that make this blog possible

Tracks 02 to 17 are sourced from the bootleg "Maine Road" by Kiss The Stone. Tracks 01, 18 & 19 are from an unknown source. 

01 - The Swamp Song
02 - Acquiesce
03 - Supersonic
04 - Hello
05 - Some Might Say
06 - Roll With It
07 - Morning Glory
08 - Round Are Way
09 - Cigarettes & Alcohol
10 - Champagne Supernova
11 - Whatever
12 - Cast No Shadow
13 - Wonderwall
14 - The Masterplan
15 - Don't Look Back In Anger
16 - Live Forever
17 - Cum On Feel The Noize
18 - D'Yer Wanna Be A Spaceman (Aborted)
19 - I Am The Walrus

Password: MaineRoad

Saturday, 4 March 2017

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds: BBC Radio Theatre, 3rd November 2011

Jo Whiley presents a headline gig with Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, live from the BBC Radio Theatre in London. Noel talks to Jo before the gig, in which he's performing classic Oasis hits and songs from Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, in front of an audience of 300 Radio 2 listeners.

01 - Intro
02 - (It's Good) To Be Free
03 - Mucky Fingers
04 - Everybody's On The Run
05 - Dream On
06 - If I Had A Gun...
07 - The Good Rebel
08 - The Death Of You And Me
09 - Freaky Teeth
10 - Wonderwall
11 - Supersonic
12 - (I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine
13 - AKA... What A Life!
14 - Talk Tonight
15 - Don't Look Back In Anger (Aborted)
16 - Don't Look Back In Anger
17 - Encore Break
18 - AKA... Broken Arrow
19 - Half The World Away
20 - (Stranded On) The Wrong Beach
21 - Outro
22 - Interview with Jo Whiley

Password: BirdTheatre